Submit Your Scripts

The BPP makes calls for scripts several times each season for productions of new theatre. Please have a look at our ongoing opportunities to submit your new work:

If you have questions regarding submissions to the Bloomington Playwrights Project, please contact the Literary Manager at [email protected].


After substantial consideration, and due to current circumstances, BPP has decided to consolidate its comedy and drama awards into one single contest called the Woodward/Newman Award.** This will be open to both comedies and dramas and one winner will be selected regardless of genre and receive a $3,000 prize along with a full production. All current submissions will be moved into this new competition unless otherwise requested (via email to [email protected]).

Please note that while only one will win the Woodward/Newman Award, all plays submitted will be considered for other production slots in the season as well, which would come with a minimum of $1,000.

As our planned season keeps getting pushed farther forward (we now expect all of our 20-21 programming will need to be pushed to 21-22), we’re finding ourselves in uncharted territories. We desperately want to serve our playwriting community while also not overpromising and underdelivering. We prefer not to relegate a planned production to a Zoom reading or anything similar. This could mean that a winner of our contest might be programmed farther into the future than we’d like. So it’s prudent for us right now to afford ourselves as much flexibility as possible to serve our playwrights well given these difficult times.

**Reva Shiner will continue to be honored in our regular season.

Alumni Playwrights

The BPP has a long and successful past with too many names to mention, both local and nationally-renowned, that have spent time in our theater. We also have the only theatre award in the world named after legendary actors Paul Newman and Joanne Woodward. In recent years, we have produced groundbreaking new work from top artists such as:

  • Jesse Eisenberg (2010 Academy Award Nominee, Best Actor – The Social Network)
  • Jeff Daniels (Three-time Golden Globe nominee, Tony Nominee – The Squid and the Whale, God of Carnage, The Purple Rose of Cairo)
  • Suzanne Collins (Author of the Hunger Games trilogy)
  • Greg Kotis (Two-time Tony winner, Urinetown the Musical)
  • Dan Castellaneta (Emmy winner and voice of Homer Simpson)
  • Kooman & Dimond (Fred Ebb Award, Jonathan Larson Grant, and Mary Rodgers/Lorenz Hart Award winners)
  • Carner & Gregor (Richard Rodgers Award and Kleban Prize Award winners)
  • Alex Brightman (Two-time Tony Award nominee – School of Rock, Beetlejuice)
  • Jeremy Schonfeld (Spun, Kissing Frogs, 37 Notebooks, Drift)
  • Erin Levy (2010 Emmy winner, Mad Men)
  • Tami Sagher (Three-time Writers Guild Award Winner for Comedy – 30 Rock, How I Met Your Mother, MadTV)
  • Paris Barclay (Two-time Emmy winner – Glee, NYPD Blue, House M.D., Sons of Anarchy, In Treatment, ER, The West Wing)
  • Craig Wright (Emmy nominee – Six Feet Under, Lost, Dirty Sexy Money, The Pavilion)
  • Jon Marans (Pulitzer-Prize finalist – Old Wicked Songs, The Temperamentals)
  • Wendy MacLeod (Playwright in residence – Kenyon College, The House of Yes)
  • Israel Horovitz (Longest running off-off-Broadway play of all time – Line)
  • Michael Healey (Governor General’s Award, Chalmers Award – The Drawer Boy)
  • Stephen Massicotte (National Contest winner, Betty Mitchell Award Winner for Best New Play – Mary’s Wedding)
  • Christy Hall (Writer & Executive Producer of the Netflix series, I Am Not Okay With This)
  • Scott Alan (Internationally acclaimed songwriter)
  • Drew Gasparini (One of’s Contemporary Musical Theatre Songwriters You Should Know)
  • Bekah Brunstetter (Writer/Producer of the hit TV series, This Is Us)
  • Itamar Moses (Lucille Lortel, New York Drama Critics Circle, Outer Critics Circle, and Obie Award winner)


Special Thanks to Our Corporate Sponsors